Spotlight shines on…Bonita!

1- Introduce yourself and tell us a little bit about where you are from, work, family etc.

My name is Bonita. I am a veteran. I have 3 children, 43, 41, & 35. I have 4 grandchildren ages 15,13,6,& 2.

2-  Tell us about when and how you started quilting.

My grandmother got me interested in sewing & patchwork. I learned how to sew on a Singer treadle, that belonged to my grandmother.

3- What’s your favorite part about quilting? Least favorite?

I like to use scissors and do piece work the best.

4- Any favorite technique or one you wish to learn?

I would like to do more handquilting and Big stitch quilting

5- What fabrics are you drawn to? Any particular styles or colors?

Fabric wise I like vintage cottons from 60’s and 70’s

6- Who is your favorite quilter (whether international, national or local)? Any blogs you love to follow?

My favorite quilter is Bonnie Hunter & one of my favorite blogs is crazymomquilts.

7- Tell us about where you sew! Your stash? Your sewing machine/s.

I sew at dinning room table. The light is excellent. I have several Singers & 2 Vikings.

8- Are you organized? Tell us, we won’t judge! If you are, what would you say the one thing that helped you organize the most?

I am not organized, but Jen is. I try to sew everyday. I prefer sewing over household chores.

Thank you Bonita for sharing with us!

About The Jacksonville Modern Quilt Guild

We are the Jacksonville Chapter of The Modern Quilt Guild. Our mission is to support and encourage the growth and development of modern quilting through art, education and community. We welcome quilters of all skill levels.

Leave a Reply

